Atlantic Provinces Advise Caution Relating to Non-Essential Travel Within Bubble

November 23, 2020

Newfoundland and Labrador Premier Dr. Andrew Furey, Chair of the Council of Atlantic Premiers, was joined today with New Brunswick Premier Blaine Higgs, Prince Edward Island Premier Dennis King, and Nova Scotia Premier Stephen McNeil in recommending caution regarding nonessential travel within the Atlantic Provinces.



The COVID-19 pandemic has been difficult for all Canadians, and especially our most vulnerable populations. Premiers noted that second waves of COVID-19 are happening across Canada and around the world. Given this, Premiers discussed the need for extra caution on non-essential travel in the region and agreed to monitor this closely over the next two weeks. Some provinces may take additional measures. Premiers agreed that measures will be reviewed with Atlantic Chief Medical Officers of Health.



Premiers wish to acknowledge the sacrifices all residents have made to help contain the spread of the virus and recognize the ongoing cooperation and dedication of businesses, individuals and families throughout Atlantic Canada. Premiers remain committed to working together to support economic and social recovery while ensuring the health and safety of all residents.


For more information about the COVID-19 response and specific public health requirements from each of the Atlantic Provinces, please consult the following links below:


• New Brunswick:
• Newfoundland and Labrador:
• Nova Scotia:
• Prince Edward Island:


– 30 –


To view in PDF: CAP Release Nov 23 Final